> News > National Soccer League > NSL launches 10th season

NSL launches 10th season

The semi-professional competition, which enters its 10th season this year, was officially launched by Sports Minister Justin Tkatchenko in front of the media, team managers, sponsors and partners.

Seven franchise clubs have been confirmed to participate in this season of the Telikom National Soccer League.

POM based – Hekari United FC, Admiralty FC and Oro FC
Lae based – Lae City Dwellers FC and Besta PNG United FC
Madang Based – Madang FC

Matches in Port Moresby will be played at PNG Institute of Public Administration Oval; Lae will be at Sir Ignatius Kilage Stadium and Laiwaden Oval in Madang.

During the launching Tkatchenko announced that the Sir Hubert Murray Stadium at Konedobu will now be the official home of the soccer in Papua New Guinea.

He said it was only fitting that soccer be rewarded for its management and administration of the game. With the National Soccer League taking the lead with Telikom to take the game to new heights and with a huge future for the beckoning.

The Sports Minister added that it is only fitting that the FIFA compliant Sir Hubert Murray Stadium be the new home to support the growth of football in Papua New Guinea.

Telikom acting CEO Jeffrey Bean said they are happy to continue their support of the
NSL and urged all stakeholders to work together for the common cause.

NSL Deputy Chairman Dan Kakaraya welcomes the pledge from the minister and challenged the respective seven franchises.
This weekend will see Hekari United FC takes on Oro FC and Admiralty FC will battle with Besta PNG United FC in Port Moresby, while Lae City Dwellers FC will host FC Port Moresby at the Sir Ignatius Kilage Stadium in Lae.

Related posts