> News > Papua New Guinea > NSL heads into round three

NSL heads into round three

The three teams have got into a flying start with a dominant goal frenzy over their opponents.

The defending champions Dwellers have the attacking aggression of former Hekari striker Joachim Waroi, Obert Bika, Nigel Dabinyaba and Raymond Gunemba who are a force to be reckoned with.

Hekari have moved flank defender Koriak Upaiga into the forwards and he has rewarded Jerry Allen’s faith with four goals in two games.

Meanwhile their regular striker Tommy Semmy and right flanker Tutizama Tanito are warming the benches with their respective injury concerns.

Gigira Laitepo United coach David Passam is hoping for a better performance from his side when they face Huawei PS in the main game of the National Soccer League Southern Conference at Bisini Sports Complex tomorrow.

Passam said he would retain the lineup that played in the last two matches.

“We are looking to improve from where we left off last weekend and hopefully come up with a positive result at the end,” Passam said.

Huawei’s coach Eric Petrus will call on the services of midfielder Paul Komboi, Michael Lohai, Chris Boyd and Daniel Petrus.

Up front, Petrus will have Francis Tulem and speedy Iamo “Plesman” Maneka to bombard Gigira Laitepo United’s defence time and again.

Goroka Goshia will have their first home game hosted by the National Sports Institute and president Cathy Agunam is sure the home side will give Madang a good run for their money.

PKA Rapatona have a toughened FC POM outfit to contend with after their loss last week to Gigira, while Welgris Morobe face the fiery Besta PNG United who have been causing upsets over the bigger teams.

Admiralty Peliau FC will have to have all their wits about them to contain the Dwellers, who have sharpened their attack.

After two rounds of competition in the Southern Conference, Hekari is leading with 6 points, Gigira Laitepo United 3, PKA Rapatona 3, Huawei PS 3, Erema 3 and FC Port Moresby 0.

In the Northern Conference, Lae City Dwellers and Besta PNG United are leading with 6 points, Welgris Morobe 3, Madang 3 Admiralty 0 and Goroka Gosiha 0.

Related posts