> News > PNGFA > U-20 wrap up Goroka camp

U-20 wrap up Goroka camp

Cole, who flew out of the country yesterday for America via Brisbane, said in February the U20’s will assemble once again in Goroka where they would train until November when a final squad for the World Cup would be selected.

In the two-week camp, the U20 girls trained together with the senior women’s team.

After the second week, Cole selected 11 out of the 37 to remain in Goroka to train for another week with the seniors.

Cole said it was valuable experience for the U-20s.

“The seniors had been playing as a team for a while and it was good for the U20s to train and learn from them at the same time,” she said.

She said aside from the 14-15 players who were being considered, the remainder of the squad would continue to be monitored and assessed during the camp next year.

During the two-week camp, the main areas that they worked on were the players’ ability to improve when attacking, defending and ball possession as a team.

She said as a host nation it was not about winning or losing but about how well they could prepare to perform better during the games.

Cole said their focus was to create a professional environment so that the players would continue to blend as a team in preparation for the World Cup.

Next year, the senior women’s team would assemble in Goroka for their camp in January, followed by the U-20s in February.

Squad: Gloria Balamus (Wewak), Esmaralda Waipo (Wewak), Younichen Wablasu (Wewak), Anna Bulum (Wewak), Branchley Hamaipa (Popondetta), Carolyn Rufus (Lae), Desleigh Darius (Lae), Hegga Gerald (Lae), Leah Noah (Lae), Christo Mato (Kimbe), Cynthia Stanis (Madang), Lace Kunei (Madang), Jacobeth Bani (Madang), Slady Stanis(Madang), Sheilla Gubag (Madang), Olive Upaupa (Madang), Damaris Serubi (PMSA), Davina Nouata (PMSA), Gloria Laeli (PMSA), Joyce Tsuga (PMSA), Yvonne Gabong (PMSA), Elien Manap (Madang), Eunice Dambui (Madang), Michaela Kurabi (Madang), Hillaryca Sirinjui (Kimbe), Jacqueline Mayosi (Alotau), Jenelle Wong (ENBP), Joyce Sai (Bulolo), Lavinia Hola (PMSA),Lisa Manahan (Arawa), Nicolette Ageva (Buka), Pauline Constantinou (EPC), Pauline Nusai (Markham), Ramona Padio (Kimbe), Rosewitha Puso (Buka), Tetoria Robert (Chimbu), Marie Kaipu (PSSA)

Related posts