> News > PNGFA Besta FA Cup - Momase > Situm and Lahi win Momase leg

Situm and Lahi win Momase leg

Local organising committee chairman Roy Kamen acknowledged his committee for a job well done and the tournament sponsors for making the competition a success.

Associations that fielded only men’s teams were Maprik, Bogia, Walium, Gaifa, Wampar, Situm and Central Morobe. Wewak, Madang, Lahi, LFA, Mumeng, Bulolo Urban (BUFA), Wau and Boana were represented in both divisions.

The inclusion of National Soccer League players in rural teams lifted the overall standard of the game making the 2015 tournament more exciting than previous years.

Match commissioner Alex Toki said he was impressed with the participating of the rural associations.

Momeng and Central Morobe were the crowd favourites taking part for the first time.

He also acknowledged the oraganising committee and PNG Football Association for accepting the teams’ application for the event.

“Boana, with a women’s team, took part for the first time while Madang and East Sepik created an impact in the tournament as well,” Toki said.

He said the NSL players attached to rural associations improved games and produced good results.

The women’s grand-final was won by Lahi after beating sister association LFA 3-0 and Lae beat Wewak 4-2 in a penalty shootout in the first semi-final after the game was drawn 0-0 while Lahi knocked off a determined Madang side 3-2 in a penalty shootout in the semi-final.

In the men’s first semi-final Lae overcame a strong Gaifa side 2-1 from Markham in an evenly-contested match.
Situm went into a penalty shootout with Madang winning the match 4-3 before going on to beat the host association Lae 3-2in the grand-final shootout.

Lahi and Situm walked away with cash prizes and the cup, and had their names engraved on the Sigma Construction-sponsored shield which has been ongoing for 10 years. Wewak women and Gaifa men ended the tournament in third place while the Madang sides came fourth in both divisions.

The LOC Appreciation awards went to BUFA (women), Maprik, Walium, Mumeng and Bulolo Urban (men).

Awards for the women went to Wewak duo Younicha Wa Blasu (top goal-keeper), Esmeralda Waipo (player of the tournament) and golden boot winner (five goals) with Boana women getting the fair play award.

In the men’s division Bogia received the fair play award, LFA’s Vagi Koniel was top goal-keeper, Madang’s Don Angongi was named player of the tournament and Boana’s Alex Kamen took the golden booth award for scoring 10 goals.