> News > 2019 National Soccer League > NSL EOI deadline approaches

NSL EOI deadline approaches

The new-look National Soccer League (NSL) is set to be played in all four regions of the country when it kicks off on January 19 next year.

But with the Expression of Interest (EOI) deadline is fast approaching; intending franchise clubs wishing to take part have three weeks left to submit expression of interest.

NSL manager Leslie Babaga said any late submission of EOI after the closing date will not be accepted. 

He said all EOI must be accompanied with a payment receipt of K5, 000 (non-refundable) and payment must be made to the account details provided in the EOI form.

According to Babaga 12 franchises in the Southern Conference have expressed their interest with only two has submitted their EOI and receipt of payment while Northern Conference has six with one submitted EOI and receipt of payment.

In the NGI only three teams has expressed interest while the Highlands region has five teams with one already submitted EOI and receipt of payment.

The teams that express their interest are: Southern Strikers FC, FC Momase, Hekari United FC, Central United FC, Central Coast Avala FC, Oro/MaClaren FC, Port Moresby Soccer Association, Sivitatana Soccer Association, PRK Eremas FC, Central Football Association, Kalibobo United FC, FC Bougainville (Southern Conference), Toti City FC, Madang FC, Morobe United FC, Besta PNG United FC, Snax Lahi FC, FC Morobe Wawens (Northern Conference), Wabag Soccer Association, Mendi Soccer Association, Apporo Mai United FC, Tabubil Soccer Association (Highlands), Kokopo Urban Football Association, Manus Soccer Association, Lihir Soccer Association (NGI).

Babaga reiterated that this are not confirmed teams but teams that have expressed interest to be part of the 2019 NSL season.

The ceiling for number of teams competing in each conference are Southern and Northern will have seven teams each whilst the NGI and Highlands will have 6 teams each respectively.

Each teams will compete within their regions and only the top two from the four region will be drawn against each other to play a home and away series with the winners continue into the finals.

“This format will depend on the confirmed number of teams submitting their expression of interest,” said Babaga.

Babaga also stated that there is also a new criteria from FIFA how the competitions should be entailed to conform to the new changes FIFA are putting in place and NSL will have to take that into account to run the competition in the manner of new information that just come in.

The closing date for the Expression of Interest is 31st December.

Related posts