> News > 2017 National Soccer League > Popoitai is new NSL chairman

Popoitai is new NSL chairman

The National Soccer League (NSL) yesterday announced their newly appointed board members to administer the welfare and administration.

The NSL board comprises of four newly appointed members including four previous members with Bank of PNG deputy governor Benny Popoitai as the board chairman and Seamus Marten as the Chief Executive Officer.

The other NSL board members are Xavier Victor, Miok Komolong, Charlie Wanma, Dan Kakaraya, Ray Paul, Paul Komboi and John Wesley Gonjuan.

The National Soccer League (NSL) will kick off on May 6 and involve six teams.

The six teams e the defending champion Lae City Dwellers, Madang FC, Besta PNG United FC, PS Huawei FC and newcomers Buang FC and Southern Strikers FC.

NSL chairman Benny Popoitai said the first triple header will be played at the Laiwaden Oval in Madang.

“Madang has been in this competition for a long time and sometimes you have to bring the game to the people,” Popoitai said.

He said the board’s main vision is to enhance football followers through the NSL competition so that everyone can embrace the passion and love for the game.

“2017 marks the 12th year of the NSL and PNG continues to progress at the Oceania football level through its rankings and the inclusion of NSL players and teams.

“With this I can say that soccer has made significant progress,” he added.

All franchise teams have paid the K5,000 nomination fees including the K80,000 registration fee.

 Popoitai also expressed appreciation in having Seamus Marten as the NSL CEO and a great team of board members who will work hand in hand to achieve the competition’s aim and goals.

Related posts