> News > Madang Soccer Association > Tusbab crowned MSA champions

Tusbab crowned MSA champions

The Madang Soccer Association men’s A League team Tusbab Blue Kumuls were crowned as the Madang Soccer Association champion on Saturday at Laiwaden Oval in Madang.

Tusbab Blue Kumuls went out on a winning note beating Wagsford 1-0 in the extra time after a scoreless in the normal regular time.

It was Tusbab’s Nigel Malgian’s header that separated the two teams after a scoreless encounter in the normal 90minutes of football.

The crowd were kept at their feet as midfielders from both teams created opportunities for their strikers to take a shot at each other’s goals.

Upsurge by Wagsford strikers Michael Toli Jr, Francis Kawol and Darren ‘Papu’ Steven were diffused by Tusbabs’ Nigel Malagian, Kimson Kapai, Nolan Samar and Freeman Giwi, who were at kept busy throughout the afternoon.

Wagsford plan to press in Tusbab’s territory early proved a telling factor in the first half but it was Tusbab’s goal keeper Jessie Mandari who kept the balls from going past him, into the net.

After a strong talk at half time by coach Rachael Wadunah, Tusbab came out firing with more created opportunities but failed to convert their chances as Wagsford defensive unit led by Kim Mare and Darren Polly proved too strong for Richie Apisa, Emmanuel Yopiyopi and Powes Pausen Parkop.

The Laiwaden soccer supporters did not even leave the field as the game went into extra time. Both team made a few substitutes as fatigue crept in, with Tusbab sending its youth players in with Morris Devi and Tuvirapa Ado.

The tactical change by Wadunah gave Tusbab the attacking flair in the flank, forcing errors in the Wagford’s backline.

With two minutes remaining of the second stanza of the additional time saw Wagsford strongman Darren Polly going down with cramp as Kim Mare gave a corner to Tusbab. Max Sengum stepped up for the corner saw Nigel Malagian to finish off with a good header.

In the lower divisions Nabasa won the title in the B division, after defeating Centres while the Kula women claimed the women’s title.

Tusbab Blue Kumuls under 16 team won the youth title after defeating neighbours Centres by 5 goals to 4 in the penalty shootout.

Related posts